NSFW Figure Review of Hagure Yuusha’s Ousawa Miu by Amakuni

I sure have been reviewing a lot of NSFW figures lately. This blog is probably hitting puberty.

I bought this figure at Cosplay Mania 2013. As usual, Great Toys Online was there with their buddy Hobby Japan and they were selling event exclusive figures for pretty cheap. Miu cost me 3000 Philippine pesos of my milk money when I bought her from GTO and online stores are selling her at prices usually above 5000 pesos. So yes, this is a 2000 peso victory for Sunny Side Anime Blog! Enough about how I got her, time to look at Miu in detail.

Her face is okay. Pretty standard quality of printed eyes and painted on eyebrows. I do have to point out that her mouth actually has a realistic shape and color to it. A lot of figures seem to settle for ugly, flat, painted on smiles. The quality of her hair is pretty average. They’re not as fine as Good Smile Company-quality figures but they’re nowhere near bad. The seam line on the top of her head is tight but still obvious and the ribbons on her pigtails don’t have holes in them when they probably should.

Two of Miu’s most notable features are her huge right breast and her huge left breast. They’re bursting out of her clothes. Bursting as in she’s castoffable by removing her chest piece and her breasts are so huge, that thing never stays put so I had to glue it. Not to worry though, I did take a few photos of Miu’s mammaries before permanently hiding them from the rest of the world.

By the way, Otober is Breast Cancer Awareness month. I just thought it would be sorta related on the topic of Miu’s chest-butt. You know, Miu also has some pretty beautiful armpits as well and it’s ever so slightly concave and there’s some shading to put emphasis on it. I don’t know why armpits are sexy, they just kinda are.

See? Look at that wonderful armpit. I do like the design on Miu’s arm sleeve/long glove as well. It’s a combo of the criss-cross pattern around it, the gold bands on her wrists and upper arms and the fluff of fur at the end.

Miu has a pretty awesome looking staff. It’s quite a creative design from an anime with more creative fanservice.

I absolutely love Miu’s curves. I’m going to paraphrase a 50 Cent song with saying those hips, those thighs have got me hypnotized. I love it. Everything is so strategically put together for maximum sexiness. Her clothes barely doing their job and leaving her torso exposed, her decision not to wear pants today showing off her glorious thighs, and tiny panties that bares her groin (I still think that word is very unsexy).

I love how all the goods are in one area and the dark clothes she wears only highlights them. I think how I set up the lighting for this photo also helps. Do I get a pat ion the back? Some of my long time readers will notice that I’m not doing the generic white backdrop with lighting set up to minimize shadows that I used to do. I tried to be more artistic(?) here and actually use shadows to highlight certain areas.

Some effort looks like it was put into designing her shoes. It’s pretty simple but it complements the rest of her design.

Her base is a pretty simple circle but it does save itself from mediocrity by having a rune circle that fits Miu’s mage design.

Miu’s boulder boobies and her skimpy clothes sexualize her a lot already, but at least her pose doesn’t have her breaking her spine to stick out her money makers. I know it still looks pretty curved but part of that is because of the size of her breasts and butt and they’re going in opposite directions forming an S shape with her body.

Her back is where most of her “flow” can be observed from her pigtails and the tails of her attire.

They did put some wrinkles on her back to make it look more realistic.

Miu’s butt isn’t as prominently displayed as her breasts. In fact, it’s pretty hidden by her tail-cloth-thingies. Just like with her breasts though, her clothes can barely contain that meaty goodness. I imagine moving around with that means a full cheeck-exposing wedgie at any given moment.

And here we go, Miu’s breasts (I think I’ve finally run out of nicknames for them) revealed.

If you can observe, one nipple is pinker than the other, plus there’s a speck of dirt caught between her breasts which I can’t remove for some reason. These are just two reasons why I decided to glue her chest piece on her.

The other two reasons are the awkward shape of her breasts and how her chest piece is really prone to falling.

Look at that, her breasts look so compressed. Like she’s wearing an invisible bra or something. Also, her chest piece is comically hung by her nipples. Apparently her nipples weren’t pointy enough because that thing never stays on her.

Okay, last few notes and comments for this review. Her paint is slightly better in quality than her sculpt. The shading and the blushes on Miu’s hair, clothes and skin do make her prettier. There aren’t any notable flaws on her paint either. To sum it up, Amakuni’s Miu has an excellent design that emphasizes sex appeal, a good paint job, and a sculpt that could have been better but it lives up to the price Amakuni expects us to pay for her, though barely. Ironically enough, this castoff figure’s biggest flaw comes from her being castoff. Her breasts look ugly and are better off behind her chest piece, which actually makes her breasts look bigger. She’s event exclusive so her market price is much higher than her retail price. If Hobby Japan visits conventions in your area, I suggest getting Miu there rather than from some online shop that has to give her a hefty price tag because of her rarity, she’s still worth a buy if you like what you see though. For once, and this might be a regular thing in my reviews now, I’ll give her a grade to cap off this review.

Design – A – The intent of Miu’s design is fanservice and she absolutely nails it.

Sculpt – C – Average sculpt. Some details could have been finer and sharper like Miu’s hair and her staff.

Paint – B – Not perfect but no major flaws and the shading and blushes on her hair, clothes and skin are a nice touch.

Price – C – This is a tricky one. The price that most online stores would sell her for (about 5000 Philippine pesos and above) is a C, maybe a D even, but I got her at 3000 pesos, which is a solid A. I’m going to give her a C assuming that most people have a better chance at getting her at an online store than at an event where Hobby Japan happens to be.

Final Grade: B – Pretty good. Not “OMFG I must get her!” good, but she’s a figure with a sexy design and a sculpt and paint that does the job.

Right, that’s the end of this figure review. Ciao until then, and until then, maybe Like the Facebook page?

Leave a Reply

