State of the Blog Adress (March 30, 2013) – Celebrating One Year of Sunny Side Anime Blog and the Upcoming Spring 2013 Season

partybat

That’s right! One year of fanboying over Sawa‘s breasts, Ecchi figure reviews, and procrastinated anime reviews! It’s time to PARTY!!!

Soba

Man, one year already…Woah. Like…Woah. I can still remember how it all started. Now sit down on a nice comfy chair and let me tell you a story. It was March 30, 2012. I was a graduating high schooler who had absolutely nothing to do for the summer. I decided to make this blog because I had a growing number of figure reviews on Facebook which no one paid attention to. This blog was also going to be a joint project with a friend of mine who wanted to post his webcomic but that ended up never happening and of the whole year between the start of the blog and now, I only got to chat with that friend a couple of times. Anyway, I was alone when I started this blog. To be honest, I had no idea what I was doing. I had picked the stupidest name for a blog ever, I used the default WordPress theme, I tried mixing things up by using a STUPID BLUE FONT and I used lame photoshoops for the banner image of this blog. I was an idiot. At the time, I was lucky to rake in thirty views a week. See, I started writing just so I could practice writing over the summer. I didn’t plan to become so dedicated to this blog that I would start covering conventions and doing anime reviews. It was just there whenever I wanted it. I figured though, that if there’s anything I should really put effort to, this blog might as well have been it. Then the spring 2012 anime season hit and I decided to do episode reviews of Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, Sankarea and Medaka Box. I tried to be informative by putting summaries in case anybody wanted to read about it before checking out the show. I used to be so hardworking at the start. I think I had up to forty images up in one post. Now I barely scratch past twenty. That’s when the views started coming in. Thirty a week became thirty a day. Being able to reach out to these people became my motivator for carrying on. I got people reading my opinions, though I barely got any opinions back. I did snag a couple of followers though. Which had me thinking about starting a Facebook page.

Okay, the Facebook page was the idea of my sister. She told me that it would allow me to reach out to more people. I was hesitant at first. The blog was nowhere near popular enough to rake in one thousand Likes or something. I did it anyway though and decided that I’d get to a thousand Likes in my own time. I’m not going to be one of those stupid anime fanpages that rip off content from other fanpages and beg people to Like them. I would be a noble Facebook page whose number of Likes were earned honestly. Now the page only had 74 Likes but HEY! I am eternally grateful for those 74 Likes especially a dude going by Rimbaud who took over the page for a while when I was stuck on vacation in a hotel with terrible wi-fi. He still has some authority to post stuff there, by the way. Hey! Rimbaud! If you’re reading this, just wanna let you know that you could still post whatever on the page!

You know what really changed the landscape of viewership in my blog? Probably the main reason why I got to 100,000 views in one year? SWORD ART ONLINE HENTAI. I’m serious. I never EVER post Hentai in this site. I just mention it during my reviews whenever I felt like it but I never hosted or encouraged Hentai here. Still, I mentioned it ONCEĀ during that one episode Kirito and Asuna had sex. Suddenly, my blog reached a new high in viewership and I started getting about a hundred views per day. I mentioned “Hentai” again in that one episode where Asuna gets tentacle raped and suddenly two hundred, three hundred, four hundred viewers. By New Year’s day, I was averaging about six hundred fifty viewers a day. Then the numbers started dwindling down and now I manage about two hundred eighty viewers a day. A lot of those still end up on this blog thinking there’s Hentai. It made me regret ever using the word. For a guy who didn’t spam sharing his Facebook page out of integrity, this was a cheap way to rake in viewers. I wanted it to stop. I wanted to delete any post with even a simple mention of the word “Hentai” but the little devil on my shoulder told me that this was just typical marketing strategy. Everybody did it. I’m at least happy now that the number of perverts has dwindled down a bit.

So there, a year later, 190 posts later, 33 WordPress followers later and 77 Facebook fans later and a 100,000 viewers later. Sunny Side is still alive and I plan to stick with the blog for as long as I can. Hopefully that means for many more years to come. Cheers!

Now on to more serious matters…

To celebrate this first anniversary of sorts, I plan to make a few renovations for the place.

First of all, I’ll be updating the Links portion of the homepage. I’ll relabel it as Recommended Sites and Blogs and actually put sites I enjoy visiting. I’m still open to link exchanges, by the way. No need for a little banner image. Just the name of your blog/site and a link to my blog from you website.

Second, I’m debuting a new project later called Sunburnt the Anime Podcast. It’s a podcast where a couple of friends and I talk about, complain, and rant about everything anime. Stay tuned!

Third, for April Fool’s day until Wrestlemania, Sunny Side Anime Blog is going to be Sunny Side Anime and Wrestling Blog! So as an incentive for my faithful readers who bother with my SOBA, I’m giving you a heads up to expect something like the image bellow in the coming days…

536849_252076318229104_287223357_n

Fourth, figure reviews have been a big part of this blog, so as part of celebrating the blog’s first anniv, I’m going to be redoing most of my figure reviews in HIGH DEFINITION!!! This pretty much means that I’ll re-review the figures I reviewed back in my digicam days and I’ll be using my DSLR and white backdrop set this time.

Finally, let’s talk about the upcoming anime I’ll be blogging about. As usual, I’m using the TV Tropes page for reference. So! For the Spring 2013 season, I’ll be reviewing…

Susei no Gargantia

Let’s see…On original animation by Production I.G. (Ghost in the Shell, Psycho Pass), written by Urobuchi Gen (Madoka, Psycho Pass), and character designs by Hanaru Naruko (Kamichu, really good Hentai). Why haven’t I died out of fangasming yet? This show looks to have a great staff working on it, then add the factor of my preference for sci-fi anime, there’s no way I’m not going to blog about this show!

RGD: Red Data Girl

Produced by P.A. Works, another studio have much respect for. This doesn’t seem to be another coming-of-age drama like Tari Tari or Hanasaku Iroha. Actually, I don’t know much about it, which is part of the reason why I’m picking this up. With P.A. Works heading this I’m guaranteed at least some kind of reaction.

Finally…

Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Bride

Wait…What?!

I wanted to do Shingeki no Kyojin but that show’s airing way too close to Gargantia for me to have enough time to give a good review about it. Aku no Hana shares the same airdate with this show and it’s convenient for me but I have mixed impressions of Aku no Hana. I’m sure it’s going to shake a lot of people up but at the same time I find it hard to relate to several characters it’s like the crazy girl is being the crazy girl for no other reason than being the crazy girl and the wimp main guy is being a wimp main guy for no other reason than being the wimp main guy. I didn’t see much psychological backing and that’s what turned me off from the manga…Maybe I just didn’t read far enough. Anyway. I’m picking Hyakka Ryouran instead. Gargantia and RDG are probably going to drain my insights juices so I need something dumb but enjoyable much like Senran Kagura. I’ll be using the censored version for screencaps by the way.

I’ll also be watching Shingeki no Kyojin, Karneval, and Valvrave. If you wanna hear my opinions on those as I watch them, then go check out the Facebook page.

5 thoughts on “State of the Blog Adress (March 30, 2013) – Celebrating One Year of Sunny Side Anime Blog and the Upcoming Spring 2013 Season

  1. agr0n

    Congrats on the one year anniversary!

    Your line up sounds good. I’ve seen the trailer for Susei no Gargantia and after hearing that the makers of Psycho-pass and Ghost in the Shell (I didn’t even know that the same company did them :p) I will definitely be watching that. I don’t know if you heard, but they did a pre-release for RGD the first 2 episodes are already out and they were pretty good. Finally Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Bride I saw the first season and I loved the art/animation so why the heck wouldn’t I watch the second :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

